Find the Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Your Area
- Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- Frequently Asked Questions
- $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
- $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
- $5,000 for damage to property.
- A DMV issued self-insurance certificate
- Proof of a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV
- A surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed business in California
If you operate a vehicle for commercial reasons, you are required to carry commercial car insurance with different limits. Therefore, if you drive for Uber or Lyft or operate a trucking business, you should know that different limits will apply to you. Below is a breakout of what California expects from commercial drivers:
|Vehicle Load||Minimum Commercial Car Insurance Requirements (California)|
|Less than 10,000 lbs. in property (no passengers)||$300,000 liability|
|More than 10,000 lbs. in property (no passengers)||$750,000 single limit|
|Household goods (no passengers)||250/500/100 or $600,000 CSL|
|Intrastate motor carriers petroleum/waste petroleum products||$500/1,000/200 (other than property being transported) or $1.2 million CSL|
|Hazardous substance carriers||$5 million or $1 million CSL depending on substance (Federal Regulation)|
What are the Penalties for Driving Without Minimum Insurance Coverage in California?We recommend checking our out full guide in the penalties for driving without insurance. However, if you’re after just a quick summary, the following table breaks down the consequences of getting caught. In short, you may face a fine over $700, your vehicle may be impounded, and you might lose driving privileges for some period of time.
|1st||$100-$200 plus penalty assessments||Vehicle may be impounded.|
|2nd||$200-$500 plus penalty assessments||Vehicle may be impounded.|
|1st + Collision||$100-$200 plus penalty assessments||Mandatory one-year suspension of license. Driver must maintain SR-22 and proof of financial responsibility for 3 years after license being reinstated. Vehicle may be impounded.|
|2nd + Collision||$200-$500 plus penalty assessments||License may be suspended for up to 4 years. Driver must maintain SR-22 and proof of financial responsibility for 3 years after license being reinstated. Vehicle may be impounded.|
Does California require collision insurance? Collision and comprehensive insurance are optional in California.What type of insurance is required in California? You are required to carry property damage liability insurance. This covers damage done to other people’s property.Do you need insurance to register a vehicle in California? Yes. If you want to register a vehicle in California, you need to have insurance.What is the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage required in California? $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident and $5,000.What are sr22 insurance requirements in California? An SR22 is a certificate of insurance. An auto insurer will file it with the California DMV office in order to confirm that you meet the state’s minimum requirements for liability coverage. You are required to obtain an SR22 if you wish to reinstate your license following a DMV suspension or revocation.How do I obtain a DMV-issued self-insurance certificate? If you wish to put down a security deposit or obtain self-insurance, contact the DMV Financial Responsibility Unit at (917) 657 – 6520. To insure yourself through a surety bond, contact the Department of Insurance at www.insurance.ca.gov or by calling 1-800-927-4357.